Home » Forum » Quick Peaches and Cream "Lambic": Advice? Register | Login
Subject: Quick Peaches and Cream "Lambic": Advice?
Author: Majikoopa
Jun 7th, 2012
9:19 pm
Hey there! I'm relatively new to brewing at about 6 months experience, so I decided to come to the experts for an idea I've got. A couple months back, I brewed a smoked chili beer that turned out interestingly. Strangely though, after an extra few weeks of brewing, a delicious, sour lemony flavor came out that I fell in love with. I'm assuming that the lemony flavor came from wild yeast contamination that came in on the chilies I added in secondary. It didn't mesh great with the chili flavor, but I decided I want to harness something similar for my next brew- here's what I came up with:

Quick Peaches and Cream "Lambic"

1 Packet Roeselare yeast
1 Cup yeasty dregs of previous brew (safale US-05)
2 lbs amber extract
4 lbs wheat extract
1.5 Cups Lactose
1.5 oz Halltauer Hops
1/4 cup rice extract
.5 lb aromatic barley
.5 lb crystal barley

I went ahead and steeped my grains for 20 minutes at 170 degrees, removed them, brought to a boil and added my extract and half of the hops. Next I added the lactose sugar (for creaminess) which I mixed with about a pint of water and pre-boiled (to delude) before adding to the wort. This was about at the 30 minute mark, which is when I added the rest of the hops and the rice extract (on a whim).

Previously, I had preserved and kept a yeast culture from my old strain handy. When the wort cooled, I pitched the Roeselare yeast in with the yeast of my old batch. In a few weeks I'll shift to secondary fermentation and add some peach puree for about the last 5 days to impart peach flavor.