Home » Forum » Delerium Tremens clone Register | Login
Subject: Delerium Tremens clone
Author: JCallicoat13
Jun 6th, 2012
2:49 am
I'm fairly new to brewing and wanted to try this Delerium Tremens clone recipe in the near future. I've never seen a recipe call for adding a second dose of the same yeast strain 3 days before bottling. Has anyone tried this who could comment on what I can expect? Also, I'm assuming this is for a 5 gallon batch, but the recipe doesn't actually say. Can anyone confirm this?

Here's the full recipe:

Delerium Tremens clone
OG: 1.084
SG: 1.013
SRM: 7
IBU: 26
ABV: 9.1%

Extract:
7oz. German Munich Malt
5oz. Belgian Biscuit malt
3oz. Belgian Aromatic
7.5lbs Extra Light DME
1.5lbs Belgian Clear Candi Sugar
1lb Invert Sugar (Lyle's Golden Syrup)
1.5oz. Styrian Goldings (60 min)
.25oz. Styrian Goldings (15min)
.25oz. Czech Saaz (15 min)
1 tsp Irish Moss (15min)
.25oz. Czech Saaz (4 min)
.25tsp. Grains of Paradise (4 min)
Wyeast 1214 Belgian Abbey Ale or Wyeast 1388 Belgian Strong Ale

Steep Grains at 150 degrees for 30 minutes. Strain and Sparge grains with 150 degree water. Bring to boil, remove from heat, add DME, candi sugar, inver sugar and Styrian Goldings hops (1.5oz.) Bring to boil add additional ingredients as noted...
Primary - 7 days
Secondary - 4-6 weeks
Bottle condition - 4-6 weeks

Add fresh dose of same strain yeast 3 days before bottling.
Bottle with 1/2 cup Corn sugar and 1/3 cup Clear Candi Sugar, boiled in 2 cups water for 10 minutes
Subject: Re: Delerium Tremens clone
Author: BryansBrew
Jun 6th, 2012
11:50 am
>I've never seen a recipe call for adding a second dose of the same yeast strain 3 days before bottling.

The theory behind that is that big (strong) beers will have tired out if not killed the yeast, so adding fresh yeast will ensure the bottles get carbonated fully and quickly.