Home » Forum » Kegerators, where to find a fridge to convert Register | Login
Subject: Kegerators, where to find a fridge to convert
Author: Hopper5000
Jan 4th, 2012
4:53 am
Hey all,

I am just getting into kegging but need to pick up a fridge that is big enough for two cornies and a 5 lb co2 tank. From what I can tell the fridge should be about 5 cubic feet at least and the Sanyo 4912 was a perfect one for this purpose. Well looks like they stopped manufacturing this one and anyone that is around this size in general. The next best ones I can see are only 4.6 and have freezers in them that would have to be removed. Anyone have any advice? I was thinking of going with a chest freezer and getting an external temp control. Thoughts? Thanks for the help.
Subject: Re: Kegerators, where to find a fridge to convert
Author: PaulD70
Jan 4th, 2012
5:08 am
I looked around quite a bit last year and couldn't find anything else like the Sanyo 4912. Bummer to hear they're not making them any more. It looks like Amazon might still have a few left: http://www.amazon.com/Sanyo-SR-4912M-9-Cubic-Foot-Counter-High-Refrigerator/dp/B00158QNBG%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJVNVVU2BHW3GMS5A%26tag%3D50ab-20%26linkCode%3Dxm2%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB00158QNBG

That said, you could get a small chest freezer and temp controller that would probably hold several kegs for the same price, but it wouldn't look quite as nice IMHO.
Author: nightbrewer
Jan 4th, 2012
5:24 am
I decided to get a 14.8 cu. ft. Chest Freezer and love it. It holds a 5 lb CO2 canister and 5 kegs with room to space for hops, malts, dextrose and yeast. You'll want to put a collar on it so you can dispense beer without opening it up. You'll need to also purchase a thermostat. All and all it's a fun Saturday project. If you feel that's too big, get one around 10 cu ft.